Ohio's State Legislative Map-Drawing Process

A seven-member Redistricting Commission is responsible for drawing Ohio's state legislative maps. The Commission has the following members: The Ohio Governor, Auditor, Secretary of State, and nominees from the following legislative leaders: The Speaker of the House, House Minority Leader, Senate President, and Senate Minority Leader. The nominees of the legislative leaders are not required to be legislators themselves.



If the Commission adopts a four-year map (as detailed in Step 3 above), the Commission must reconvene no earlier than July 1, 2025 to draw a gap six-year map. The same rules as in Step 1 or 2 will apply here as appropriate.

Criteria for State Legislative Maps

The following are some of the top-level criteria which state legislative maps must meet; if they are not met, there are grounds for a legal challenge at the Ohio Supreme Court.

- Contiguity and compactness
- District boundaries should be created using county, municipal, and township boundaries
- Where possible, House districts should NOT split counties more than once
- District population cannot vary greater than 5% from its representation ratio
- No maps that (dis)favor one party over the other
- State legislative maps must have representational fairness based on the preferences of Ohio's voters from the preceding decade – that is, the overall percentage of favorable seats for each party should match the percentage of votes they've received over the last 10 years
- Nest three contiguous House seats into each Senate district



Ohio's State Congressional Map-Drawing Process

The Ohio legislature is *primarily* responsible for drawing the congressional maps, though the Redistricting Commission is also involved in drawing the map in certain circumstances.



(September 30, October 31, and November 30, respectively) and the map, once

passed, will remain effective for the remainder of the decade.



Criteria for Congressional Maps

The following are some of the top-level criteria which Ohio's congressional maps must meet; if they are not met, there are grounds for a legal challenge at the Ohio Supreme Court.

- Contiguity and compactness
- The following are new rules about how and whether communities can be split apart:
 - How many counties can be split?
 - 65 counties must be kept whole
 - 18 counties may be split once
 - 5 counties may be split twice
 - What cities **can/cannot** be split?
 - Columbus must be split because its population too big to fit into one congressional district (CD)
 - Cleveland and Cincinnati **cannot** be split apart
 - Akron, Dayton, and Toledo will likely not be split apart
 - If a congressional district (CD) includes only <u>part</u> of a county, that part of the CD that lies within the county MUST be contiguous within the bounds of the county



Criteria for Congressional Maps, cont.

- No two CDs can share portions of more than one county UNLESS one of those county's population is greater than 400,000
- Map drawing authority shall attempt to include AT LEAST one whole county in each CD
 - This requirement does NOT apply to a CD that is entirely contained within one county OR to a CD that cannot meet this criterion while also complying with federal law (e.g. the Voting Rights Act)
- For maps drawn under Step 4 (with a legislative simple majority), the following apply:
 - No map can "unduly" (dis)favor either one political party or incumbents
 - No undue splitting of political subdivisions with a preference to keeping counties, townships, and municipal corporations (in that order) whole
 - An attempt to draw compact congressional districts
 - The legislature must include in its congressional district plan an explanation about how it complied with all of the preceding rules

