614-259-8020 info@ohiodeladems.org

As provided in the Ohio Revised Code (Section 3517.04), and detailed in the Bylaws and Constitution of the DELAWARE COUNTY DEMOCRATIC PARTY, the Party will reorganize within six to fifteen days after the results of the March Primary are determined. Notice of this meeting will be sent to each member-elect.

We recently received guidance from the Ohio Democratic Party on how to conduct meetings in a virtual format due to the COVID-19 outbreak. Here is a general overview of the process.

During this meeting, we will swear in each person elected to Central Committee, and then will elect or re-elect our party officers. In 2018, we were able to provide brief biographical sketches of each person running for a party office prior to the meeting, and each person had the opportunity to give a brief speech at the meeting. 

Democratic National Committee and Ohio Democratic Party rules require that all meetings are open to the public, and all votes are open votes.

A temporary chairperson and secretary shall be chosen for the matter of organization only from the Elected Members of the Central Committee. 

Officers of the party to be elected by majority vote include the Chair, two Vice-Chairpersons, one of whom shall be a woman and one of whom shall be a man, a treasurer, and a secretary. At this time, those who have expressed interest in these positions are: Peg Watkins, chair; Joydeep Gupta, Vice Chair; Aileen Wagner, Vice Chair; Barb Berry, Secretary; and Roopande Dirrig, Treasurer. If others are interested, please let us know soon so that information can be shared with others.

Candidates for Chair must be elected to Central Committee on the Primary ballot, and only Central Committee members can vote for Party Chair.

The reorganization meeting will most likely occur late in May. Save the date for April 30, 2020 for a virtual meeting, where we will share additional information and answer questions.