614-259-8020 info@ohiodeladems.org

The Delaware County Democratic Party is thrilled to welcome its new leadership. The party held its virtual two-part reorganization meetings on May 26, 2020 and June 2, 2020, a process required by Ohio law every two years. The party’s Executive Committee elected by majority vote:

  • Peg Watkins, Chair 
  • Joydeep Gupta, First Vice-Chair
  • Aileen Wagner, Second Vice-Chair
  • Barb Berry, Secretary
  • Roopande Dirrig, Treasurer

“Delaware County is the fastest-growing county and also one of the wealthiest counties in Ohio. It’s important that our party and its leadership reflects the community,” said Peg Watkins, who was reelected to her second term as party chair. “Our new leadership is ready to use their unique skills and passions to guide our party forward, engage more Democrats in our county, and elect Democrats from local to state and, of course, the office of President of the United States.”

Watkins also thanked those party members who ran for these positions.

“Thank you to longtime members Judy Carpenter, Pamela Foster, Brian Jaffe and Pam Warrick for their drive and passion to run for party leadership and I look forward to all working together this year.”

The party has quickly adapted to operating virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic by holding regular business meetings and other events by video conference.

“We launched virtual Vote Blue Happy Hours and have distinguished guests including Judges Jennifer Brunner and John P. O’Donnell, who are both running for Ohio Supreme Court, State Rep. Beth Liston (D-21) and candidate for state representative, Rachael Morocco,” said Watkins.

The party is planning more virtual events including ones on local organizing, highlighting candidates and fundraising. 

“We saw a huge increase in voters in our county requesting Democratic ballots in the primary this year and we know people are at home and wondering how to get more involved,” said Watkins. “We’re offering time with fellow Democrats who are motivated to elect Democrats and kick Donald Trump out of office.”